Misselberg was first recorded as Mistelberg in 1361. In 1604 the settlement still consisted of a farm with 3 houses. It belonged to Dienethal until 1821. After that Misselberg formed its own community. Since the late Middle Ages, the village belonged to the Nassau tribal authority. The village of Misselberg is particularly idyllically situated in a charming landscape, so that - as already mentioned - the village is frequented by many hiking groups and individual hikers. In 1989 the construction of the town hall was started, which was inaugurated in 1993. A special feature in Misselberg is the so-called Missel flower. This is a wild growing species of dwarf narcissus, which can only be found in very few other places in Germany. The meadow ground, where the flower grows and blooms early in March, is under nature protection in order to guarantee the survival of this rare plant. Many nature lovers come to Misselberg at the time of blossoming to enjoy the beauty of the flowers. Some legends have been heard about their origin, but they cannot be proven. Another natural monument in Misselberg is the knaut oak. Even before the First World War, three spa guests who stayed in Nassau donated a considerable amount of money to the local community, on the condition that this unusually strong oak tree should not be felled. It received its name afterwards from one of these donors, who wrote to Knauth. The oak has been restored several times and, like the Misselblume, is under protection.