© Dominik Ketz/LTT

Arnstein Monastery

Short facts

  • Seelbach
  • churches/monasteries, historic…

Arnstein Monastery is enthroned high above the Lahn in a marvellous location. Both the view from above into the Lahn valley and from the river to the monastery (pilgrimage site) are unique

The history of the monastery dates back to the second half of the 11th century: Arnstein Castle on the River Lahn was first mentioned in 1052 as the seat of the Count of Arnstein. This is the oldest mention of a castle on this river, of which only the remains of the walls have survived, allowing no conclusions to be drawn about the appearance of the complex.



In 1139, Ludwig III, the last Count of Arnstein, converted his castle into a Premonstratensian monastery and entered it himself. His wife lived as a hermit near the monastery until her death. In the same year, partial demolition of the castle began.

In 1145, King Konrad III confirmed the abbey as an imperial centre.

From 1236, there was also a branch monastery under the patronage of the Nassau counts and princes, the Keppel near Hilchenbach. The monastery church was completed in 1360.

From 1919 to 2018, religious of the Sacred Hearts of Jesus and Mary, the "Arnstein Fathers", lived there.

Since 2019, it has been an Orthodox monastery with a community of sisters.




Monastery shop open daily. Orthodox services can be attended in the monastery chapel.

The architectural style is Staufer Romanesque, also known as Rhenish transitional style. The choir is already fully in the early Gothic style. The church contains individual components that can be dated to the 12th century.

On the map

Pater-Damian-Strasse 1.

56377 Seelbach


Phone: (0049)2604943479

E-mail:

Next steps